Win! Win! Win! :)

Legal Powered Kit accomplished!!!

In their unmodified form, the kits I currently have produce 500w

i have managed to reduce their Max Power to less than 250 watts (240watts, to be exact) by making modifications to the controllers that deliver the power to the wheel.

I have found out how to modify a kit’s controller so that at 24v, an installed kit produces a theoretical  maximum power less than legal limit for a “pedal assisted” electric bicycles.

I have tested these modifications past proof of concept and will be doing range and functional tests tomorrow.

Why is this Win?  It is Win cos it means someone could buy a modified kit from me, and build a legally compliant electric pedal assist bicycle, meeting Australian adopted power and top speed limit restrictions, and employing “peddle to start”…

I haven’t installed a Pedal to start electric bike sensor, I do have them tho and I know the kit controllers have reserved inputs in them so all aspects of compliance from power to top speed and pedal assist are catered for..

Such an e-bicycle has the same “rights” on a road, cycle way or shared cycle way as does a purely Human-powered bicycle, and , like a bicycle does not require a licence.

A non-compliant electric bicycle (with greater power or top speed than the regulations permit) is severely restricted in terms of where it can be ridden, and can only legally be used in “off road” situations, not including cycleways or shared cycleways.

Proof of Concept and beyond

On the MkI, I have installed a controller with the low power modification.

I have now wired up a separate 24volt battery system, with 24v batteries (LiPo, light, less than 5kg for 24v 15ah)  So with the existing 36 volt battery (about 8kg with rear rack, LiPoFe4 Headway cell 36v 10ah ), i can now demonstrate both legal power (24v 250w), and the first easily instituted power mod, upping the voltage from 24 volts to 36 volts (360w).

Demonstrator Wins

Whilst taking the first prototype dual battery system MkI for a ride, I came across a bloke I have talked with a lot about the e-bikes i am building…

I got him to jump on the MkI and take it for a spin around the carpark, on the 250w 24v power setting. He was actually impressed even at that low power… I think it was his first experience of an electric bike.

I then disconnected the 24v battery and connected the 36 volt battery (only needed to swap one plug and change a jumper setting on the Low voltage warning) and got him to ride it again…

With the 36v battery, the bike now generated Around 370 watts, and could now push through to about 35 km/h. A significant power improvement, and after he’d taken that configuration for a spin he was even more impressed.

Nice… the MkI proved to be a worthy demonstrator.

In its current form, though, with dual battery systems, the Mk1 is heavier than it needs to be.

The next build goal is to build a purely legally compliant electric assist bicycle (24v battery only) using one of my kits and a brand new bicycle I have on hand.

Legally-compliant bicycle to electric-assist bicycle conversion

I have a brand new “Mountain-bike style” dual suspension bike, ideal for a 24v 250 watt specific e-bike conversion with one of my legally compliant kits., and once complete, it will be immediately sellable as a compliant electric assist bicycle, and I will have demonstrated installing a modified kit..

Which will then satisfy me enough to be able to finalise my business plan, sort out commercial web presence and registration, and do all those things needed to be done to actually try and make this a business rather than a hobby.

And hopefully get a couple of people off my back who are hassling me about getting that business stuff sorted.

🙂

Joe

1 thought on “Win! Win! Win! :)

Leave a comment